Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] ARM IODIR explanation

Status
Not open for further replies.

skyflyer

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi!

Warning: total newbie here. I'm trying to learn ARM (have not tried to program it yet, but have plans to do so) and I was looking through examples and couldn't find an explanation for IODIR1 variable setting. Most examples set this variable to like this:
Code:
IODIR1=0x00FF0000;
with comment that this initializes pins P1.16 - P1.23 (8 pins).

My question is, how does a such a big number initialize pins 16 - 23 and where could I find the explanation? The AVR code for instance (DDRB) I understand, but this is puzzling. I have a small dev board and LPC1113 for playing around, but would like to understand the code and what it does before I try to connect the chip. For instance, how would I set just pin1.1 as output?

Thanks,
Miha.

Last edited:

The IODIR register is the same in all NXP models so a read of The Insider's Guide To The NXP LPC2300/2400 Based Microcontrollers will help you
https://www.hitex.com/index.php?id=download-insiders-guides

In a few words IODIR is a 32bit register, 0x00FF0000 equals 0b00000000111111110000000000000000 , 1 in a bit means that the pin is set as output while 0 means input.

For P1.1 as output use 0x00000001

Also download ARMwizard , it will help you with a lot of settings https://www.edaboard.com/threads/196143/#post1105524

- - - Updated - - -

Also download the user manual where the function of all registers is explained
www.nxp.com/documents/user_manual/UM10398.pdf