Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Arduino platform vs. PIC

Status
Not open for further replies.

jellybird

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm fairly new to microcontrollers but I would like to invest in one of the aforementioned. I've used Arduino in the past for a school project and found it pretty easy to get started but I wonder if PIC might be a better choice for me after reading a few posts on the forums here.

Regarding PIC, I like the idea of the programmer being the main cost and the microcontrollers themselves being reasonably priced. By that I mean if I purchase one arduino, i can only have use it with 1 project at a time. Correct me if I'm wrong here.

Is there a steeper learning curve for the PIC? and is the PIC more "industry applicable"?. Are they both programmed in C? I just graduated BSEE and I have a little more time to myself so I'd like to get my hands dirty with some of my own projects.

Sorry for all the questions at once but I'd really appreciate if anyone shed some light for me.

Arduino is like lego toy, you can play and make something, and of course can be used like developer base, but if you whant to make some solution with seriously look, then make with uC. You say PIC why not Atmel? I just ask. You can use MikroC its fine.

Hi,

If you have used the Arduino and find it friendly and easy to use I would say for now continue with it.
You can always move onto the Pics once your abilties grow or the need arises.