Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

[SOLVED] Antenna arrays switching

Status
Not open for further replies.

guytoub

Member level 4
Joined
Dec 23, 2004
Messages
73
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
546
Hello ,
I have a question regarding the communication of patch antennas using pin diode.
I have an antenna network in which I would like to be able to switch the antennas using pin diodes. when the diodes are closed everything works well, on the other hand when they are open I have problems to adapt the network. do you have any documents concerning the switching of network antennas or any ideas on how to do it please?
 

guytoub

Member level 4
Joined
Dec 23, 2004
Messages
73
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
546
thanks Vfon for your help .
I realized that I had not been clear enough in my remarks.
my goal being to increase the gain of my network by switching or not the antennas forming my network. is it possible ? if you want a diagram I can make one for you. Thank you for your help
 

vfone

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
5,014
Helped
1,500
Reputation
3,000
Reaction score
1,105
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
31,675
Yes, a diagram would be helpful...
 

guytoub

Member level 4
Joined
Dec 23, 2004
Messages
73
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
546
Antenna array.jpg

hi Vfone , here a schematic for explain my idea ! let me know if it's good explain.
 

vfone

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
5,014
Helped
1,500
Reputation
3,000
Reaction score
1,105
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
31,675
I understand now how your circuit looks.
Seems that the main issue that you have is the isolation of the switches. But not only. I think you have also to terminate somehow (or short to the ground) the side of the open switch. Fig.1 from the link below shows what to do.
https://www.digikey.com/en/articles/rf-switches-simplify-multi-antenna-systems

Pin diodes switches reach better isolation if they use λ/4 stub segments, but using them in an antenna array is a bit complicated due to phase shift introduced.

The last option you can try to increase the switch isolation is to add another PIN diode in series with the existing one. Don't expect double of isolation in dB, but up to about 6dB extra, you can get. Worth to try.

Last but not least, to get maximum isolation from a PIN diode switch working at high frequencies, is the diode bias design, where the components parasitics play a very important role.
 

guytoub

Member level 4
Joined
Dec 23, 2004
Messages
73
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
546
thanks Vfone,

i going to try this .

regards
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search


Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Sponsor

Design Fast


×
Top