Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

ANalog and Digital gnd

Status
Not open for further replies.

smith_suez

Member level 3
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
67
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,694
how do we effectively couple/short analog and Digital gnd in a PCB ?
Thanks
 

qasmi

Member level 3
Joined
Apr 24, 2004
Messages
59
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
406
Good question, the answer to this question will help me too.

Regards
 

Rame

Full Member level 6
Joined
Dec 23, 2005
Messages
373
Helped
47
Reputation
94
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Location
BANGALORE
Activity points
3,813

    smith_suez

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

Anonymous_Ricky

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
517
Helped
88
Reputation
178
Reaction score
58
Trophy points
1,308
Location
India
Activity points
3,974
hi,

ferrite beed is generally used to short AGND and DGND planes in a pcb.

Regards,
Ricky
 

Rame

Full Member level 6
Joined
Dec 23, 2005
Messages
373
Helped
47
Reputation
94
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Location
BANGALORE
Activity points
3,813
Hi,

This topic has been discussed earlier,here is the thread,check this out...




Regards

Ramesh
 

A.Anand Srinivasan

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 15, 2005
Messages
1,804
Helped
257
Reputation
514
Reaction score
39
Trophy points
1,328
Location
India
Activity points
10,680
as far as i know ferrite beads contain a lot of inductance and ground bounce is mainly due to surge of current through inductance.... how would connecting analog ground and digital ground using inductance be a good solution.... pls explain...
 

smith_suez

Member level 3
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
67
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,694
Thanks a lot everyone....
Then how wud we route a trace if the trace has to pass through 2 Planes with different Nets in same/different layers...
 

Rame

Full Member level 6
Joined
Dec 23, 2005
Messages
373
Helped
47
Reputation
94
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Location
BANGALORE
Activity points
3,813
Hi Anand,

If ferrite bead isn't a ideal for coupling the grounds,then you please shed some light which is the best way to couple..???


If you go the thread i have attached,it discusses about the coupling.

Do appreciate,if you could send your views too..


Check this link suez for the routing techniques,

https://www.hottconsultants.com/pdf_files/june2001pcd_mixedsignal.pdf




Regards

Ramesh
 

A.Anand Srinivasan

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 15, 2005
Messages
1,804
Helped
257
Reputation
514
Reaction score
39
Trophy points
1,328
Location
India
Activity points
10,680
I visited that post.... i found that another person had specified ferrite beads but the justification against the inductance has not been given there....
 

Rame

Full Member level 6
Joined
Dec 23, 2005
Messages
373
Helped
47
Reputation
94
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Location
BANGALORE
Activity points
3,813
Okay,then your version of analogy,latter we can have a consolidated conclusion over the issue..

hope you understood


Regards

Ramesh
 

Rame

Full Member level 6
Joined
Dec 23, 2005
Messages
373
Helped
47
Reputation
94
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Location
BANGALORE
Activity points
3,813
Hi,

You have told justification isn't given for the inductance,can you shed your views over the issues,let us also know your thoughts.


Regards

Ramesh
 

brmadhukar

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
Messages
840
Helped
42
Reputation
84
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India
Activity points
6,783
For the DC we need both AGND and DGND should be equivalent. For higher frequencies we need AGND to be undisturbed by DGND.

So use either a thin line or inductor between the AGND abd DGND and use separate decoupling capacitors.

Hope this helps.
BRM
 

A.Anand Srinivasan

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 15, 2005
Messages
1,804
Helped
257
Reputation
514
Reaction score
39
Trophy points
1,328
Location
India
Activity points
10,680
i think the above post explains things well.... because digital ground is gonna experience high frequency disturbances due to the switching and inductive beads would take care of that.... the separate decoupling capacitor would take care of the low frequency behaviour.....
 

pinoy

Member level 1
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
40
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,508
A very small trace that will connect both GND
 

cyberrat

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jun 19, 2001
Messages
898
Helped
86
Reputation
172
Reaction score
41
Trophy points
1,308
Location
In the sewers of the U.K.
Activity points
5,825
create a part that is basically a short, (SMT resistor with pads shorted) connecting Agnd & Dgnd to each pad wont throw up an error in your CAD program but will provide the short needed.

It obviously gets left out of all pick & place programs etc.

OR do it with a zero ohm link component, that way when fault finding the link can be removed.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top