Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Advice needed - rotary switch for audio

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ghostfather

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm a relative newbie to electronics, and I'm trying to figure out which rotary switch I need in a set of speakers that I'm building.

The speakers are powered bij an internal monoblock amplifier, supplying 150w at 8 ohms to the crossover network. I want to be able to switch between the internal amplifier and an external amplifier (via speaker terminals and speaker wire, max 150w). Basically an A/B switch, thus 2 position, and two decks.

What I also need (and this is the basis of my question) is that when one of the amplifiers is disconnected, it will be shunted through a dummy 8 ohm 150 watt load. Am planning on using a wirewound chassis mounted resistor for this, just to protect the amplifier burning out or being damaged if there is no load. It shouldn't usually be necessary, but people make mistakes. Just trying to make it idiot-proof, as well as protect expensive audio amplifiers.

Switch rating should be maybe min. 0.25 amp (0.15 expected), and 5v (1.25 expected).

Inputs will be two speaker wires coming from either the internal monoblock amplifier, or via two speaker wires from an external amplifier via the backpanel terminals on the speaker.
Outputs will be two speaker wires going to the crossover network in the speaker.
When Amplifier A is conected, it goes straight to the crossover, and Amplifier B gets shunted to the 8 ohm dummy resistor.