Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

advantages of C over C++,PERL?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mickey2005

Banned
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
advantages of c over c++

specify the advantages of C over c++ AND perl?

advantage of c over c++

Well, I don't know Perl, but I have some knowledge on C and C++. The keypoints here are:

- C is very near assembly programming: the hard use of pointers for example is a very powerful mechanism. Even so, C is still a compact language, practical and has a good semanthic. Syntax is clear also.

- C++ is extremely powerful in the sense you can build extremely complex systems without having to handle with low level situations: OOP is flexible. The tradeoff here is that your program will be slowly, because of the overload it adds (polymorphism, inheritance and so on provides great functionality, with less coding) to your program.

If you are programming embedded systems then you must take care about: the MCU you actually use and the IDE/compiler; everyone lets some degree of use of the complete set of characteristics of C++.

bye,

jedihe

advantages of c++ over c

Perl is a scripting language written in C. Allthough you can compile perl scripts. It is the language of the www. Best used for text file manipulation, sorting searching etc. You cant compare it to C or C++, it's a different animal. C is a pure programmers language best suited to embedded systems.
C++ is a system language best suited to large distributed systems. They all have their place.

advantages of c++

Perl is for scripting... hmmm!

I agree: C is best for embedded!

jedihe