Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Address Generator for Dual Port RAM

Status
Not open for further replies.

oliglaser

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all,

I have recently started with Verilog and FPGAs (I have plenty of experience in most other aspects of electronics though)
I am prototyping a medium speed USB oscilloscope (>50Msps, hopefully up to 250Msps) using an Actel ProASIC3 150k gate device, and a PIC18F which handles the passing of data to the PC ans selecting gain ranges for the opamps etc.
I am using an ABC soft core on the FPGA with a UART to talk to the PIC (easy to use for now whilst learning about things, maybe use SPI or parallel, with a state machine later)
I have manged to get it working at 50Msps, using the above with a dual port RAM. All these are Actel IP cores, but I had to write a Verilog module to generate the addresses for the RAM whilst clocking the ADC (I'm using two clocks, 20MHz for the ABC CPU, and 50MHz for the address generator and ADC clock)
It was a process of trial and error but I managed to get it working and synthesised, but I would like someone to look at the code and pull it to bts, tell me where I could do things better etc. Also it didn't work in simulation (after synthesis, okay before) until I changed the st and rst sensitivities to negedge, which puzzles me - if a signal triggers some action on itself, is the level before or after the edge valid? In books I have seen standard flipflops use posedge signals that operate on them selves but this does not work in my code below..
Anyway, here it is, please feel free to tell me how bad it is :)