Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

ADC problem in pic16f877

Status
Not open for further replies.

janlyn

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
adc problem

hello all...
i am a newbie in microcontroller...
hope u all can teach me...
jz now, i tried the sample code of ADC (PIC16F877)...
when i feed from 0v to 5v with resolution 1v, everything in expected besides 2v and 3v...

now,here is my question...
1) in pic16f877, there are 10 bit ADC = 1023. is tht mean 1 is equal 4.883mV in this case...so 1023x4.883mV =4.995V (~5V)?

2)if above is right, then when i fed AN0 with 3V, i jz get about 1.797V and while fed with 2V,i get 3.281V!others is still in condition...so, can u all help me to find where the problem is??i really stuck in this...

Re: adc problem

Hi,

If you willl read in the user manual of the PIC16F8xa:
The conversion of an analog input signal results in a
corresponding 10-bit digital number. The A/D module
has high and low-voltage reference input that is software
selectable to some combination of VDD, VSS, RA2
or RA3.
So in other words you will have to check your setting of the PCFG register what referance you are using.
For both or your questions it all depandands on the referance that you are using.
Good luck.

Added after 5 minutes:

Hi,

Go to the Hobby Circuits and Small Projects Problems in this board. They have few projects and asnwers for building a digital clock.
Good luck.

janlyn

Helpful Answer Positive Rating

hi gidimiz,