Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

about Folded-cascode opamp

Status
Not open for further replies.

yuguo

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, I am a beginner in analog design, and I am trying to build a folded-cascode opamp,
While I found in the simulation results that the linearity is poor, there is 10% difference of the gain between the maximum input and input ten times lower.
Is there any suggestion on how to improve?
I have checked the biasing, seems there is no problem.

Another question is that, how to calculate DC gain?
I am using spectre, is it ok if I load the circuit with an infinite resistor?

P.S. The supply voltage is 1.1V and output swing is 0.5Vp-p, with four transistors cascoded.

Thank you very much for your help in advance :)

I would say 10% difference is OK for the analog design. You can not achieve perfect linearity.

When calculating the DC gain, you can load the Op-Amp with a capacitor, say 5pF.

bloodemon said:
I would say 10% difference is OK for the analog design. You can not achieve perfect linearity.

When calculating the DC gain, you can load the Op-Amp with a capacitor, say 5pF.

Thank you, bloodemon

But the problem is that, if I use a capacitor for loading, the nodes of output don't have right biasing
My mentor told me to define the output resistor with normal resistence value in DC, but infinite otherwise. While seems Spectre doesn't have this ability?

For linearity, I designed LNAs before, they do have good linearity. Maybe opamps are different...

how did u sim. the circuit?

u can't put ur opamp in open loop, which seems to me as if u were doing that.