Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

a basic question about the pll

Status
Not open for further replies.

calven303

Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hi!
i am a freshman in pll.i am reading best's book.i wonder if my understanding is right.
the book builds a linear model assuming the pll is in the locked state and the reference frequency is equal to the frequency of the divider's output signal(PD is a multiplier).but when the model is actually used,the reference frequency is not the same with the frequency of the divider's output signal(such as the referency frequency increases to another) while the pll is still in the locked model.why the model is still valid?we consider that the reference frequency does not change ,but the reference phase changes like a ramp function?
give me some advice,please
thanks a lot

the linear model if build for lock or near lock state , to give a simple formulas , abut how the PLL will act , but sure for the unlock or far from lock u need to model the PLL not in S domain ,
this also will show how the PLL will act , in the beginning of acquisition phase

khouly

i find i do not understand the concepts clearly!my questions are as follows:
1.the pll is in the unlocked state when either the frequencies or the phases are different?
2.the linear model is strictly valid only when both frequencies and phases are equal?
3.but we can consider the circuits is approximately linear and use the transfer function to get some approximate results if the change of the frequency is small(so the phase change is small)?