Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

6N137 Optocoupler Pin Configuration

Status
Not open for further replies.

btvarner

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am not an engineer. I have researched basic information that can be found on optocouplers. I understand the theory of 4 pin optocouplers. I believe I even understand basics of 6 pin optocouplers. However, everything I have located about 6N137 or 8 pin optocouplers in general, assumes I understand more than I do. I have located two types of information on 8 pin optocouplers. Basic info: which does not seem to include the 8 pin configuration, or Advanced info: which assumes I have knowledge I do not possess.

I have the Vishay 6N137 datasheet. Assume this 6N137 to be used instead of a 4 pin optocoupler or a relay in a simple circuit where closure times must be short. Small amperage DC input to trigger larger DC amperage output circuit. My questions are extremely basic.

Q1) Pins #1 & #4, may be used for what purpose?
Q2) Pin #5, I understand is Ground, but is it ground back to the negative side of the Vcc Collector DC supply?
Q3) Pin #6, Vo=Voltage Output. Is this output connected to the negative side of the circuit you are closing?
Q4) Pin #7 Ve=Voltage Emitter. Or is this the output connected to the negative side of the circuit you are closing? If not, what is it for?
Q5) Pin #8 Vcc Collector Supply. I assume the positive side of the circuit to be closed when the optocoupler is activated is connected here?