Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] OpAmp driven RX/TX activity LED for UART.

Status
Not open for further replies.

uart_rx_tx

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Dear Friends,

I am new to electronics. :roll:

I have already tried my best to do a thorough research on how to implement LED to see RX/TX activity.

The simplest solution was to connect LEDs and resistors in series to the RX/TX lines. Problem is that it could draws too much current and cause problems.

Another method I found was using various kinds of transistors like PNP or JFET to drive it. I have the parts but I haven't tried using them.

Another solution I came across is using a dual opamp like LM358N for RX/TX LED.

The schematic was posted on StackExchange:

GHauy.png

I am really interested in implementing this method. I have the parts already. I want to read the sensor data with an Arduino Uno. The sensor uses RS232. I convert it via max3232 to Arduino. I want to see the activity via LED. Unfortunately I don't have my electronic devices and parts with me at the moment to test it and I am under pressure to see whether this works or not? I have seen at least one person reported that his LEDs remained on all the time using this method. But his UART voltage levels were 1.8V. Mine is 5V. Don't know whether it is relevant or not.