Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

32k crystal oscillator simulation

Status
Not open for further replies.

mitgrace

Full Member level 6
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
370
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,538
cristal 32k

Dear all :

Does anyone know 32K crystal oscillator simulation ? Thanks
 

mitgrace

Full Member level 6
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
370
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,538
oscilator 32k

Dear Form :
How do we simulate the transient ? We can sim AC repsonse . But we can't guarntee the duty cylcle .
Does any comment ?
 

butterfish

Full Member level 2
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
135
Helped
9
Reputation
18
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
china
Activity points
2,018
32k oscillator

define an initial current on conductor(in quartz model),
then run .tran
 

Fom

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Mar 10, 2004
Messages
633
Helped
84
Reputation
168
Reaction score
31
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Taiwan
Activity points
4,453
oscilator 32k time starting

As to me I run conservative transient without initial condition, but wait a long time when oscillator start up. It can take a few seconds of REAL time and huge simulation time. You can define initial condition of inductor as butterfish said, but to get the real duty ratio you need a steady state result. To get it I think you need the same long-time simulation.
 

mitgrace

Full Member level 6
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
370
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,538
crystal oscillator transient simulation

Dear From :

I have try using initial condition. But it can't oscillation . Does any Spice files ? Thanks
 

holddreams

Full Member level 6
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
351
Helped
15
Reputation
30
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Shanghai
Activity points
4,237
32k + crystal

Give a pwl on vdd ,and run .tran simulation.
It will take you a long time to see the result.
just try.
 

jcpu

Full Member level 4
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
215
Helped
18
Reputation
36
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,968
pspice 32k quartz

agree with holddreams
Give a pwl on vdd
When we set this PWL as 0-->VDD ramp in ~ 10usec,
this is practically similar to power on situation
and it got to oscillator under .trans. (within 1sec)

If still fail, crystal parameters might need to be doube checked
assuming AC gain is at >= 5dB
and transient operating point is not far away from AC operating point.
 

yaxazaa

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Nov 13, 2004
Messages
118
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
902
troca cristal 32k

in side the .tran area add "uic"and wait long time to see it will oscillate on the conidtion of the AMP gain greater than aleast 2.
 

mists

Full Member level 5
Joined
May 14, 2002
Messages
277
Helped
22
Reputation
44
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Location
China
Activity points
1,281
32k crystal oscillator

maybe you also should increase simulation accuracy.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top