Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Advanced running light.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ankitvirdi4

Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am new to microcontrollers and I made a simple light chaser with a fixed inbuilt delay for running
My code is

Code C - [expand]
#include <htc.h>
#include "delay.h"
void main()
{

TRISC=0x00;
while(1)
{
PORTC=0b10000000;
DelayMs(500);
PORTC=0b01000000;
DelayMs(500);
PORTC=0b00100000;
DelayMs(500);
PORTC=0b00010000;
DelayMs(500);
PORTC=0b00001000;
DelayMs(500);
PORTC=0b00000100;
DelayMs(500);
PORTC=0b00000010;
DelayMs(500);
PORTC=0b00000001;
DelayMs(500);
}
}

I was wondering if I can control this delay externally? Using a potentiometer. I don't want to use an ADC because I am working with 16F505 which doesn't have one. Can somebody please suggest some other way? Using the timer perhaps? Please help.

Last edited by a moderator:

From what little I know in this area, ................

how many different delays do you want? If you want an "infinite" number I don't see any option but to use a pot and ADC. If only a few, then perhaps it could be done by setting the input ports - reading them and setting the delay accordingly. More than a few and this method becomes awkward and a pot with ADC becomes more attractive.

Well not infinite but that's kinda the general idea. I could still do will 10-12 levels I guess.