Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

linearity of Actice-RC filters

Status
Not open for further replies.

jimito13

Advanced Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
linearity of Active-RC filters

Dear members,

I am studying on continuous-time analog filters and i need some suggestions in my research.I am trying to find some references (book/papers/online notes) that prove the fact that the Active-RC
method of implementation offers better linearity among other available methods (like Gm-C).I would appreciate if somebody could contribute any useful information.

Thanks in advance.

Best Regards,

Hi Jimito,

I am afraid, a general answer to your question is not easy because linearity depends on dynamic range and some other parameters of the active device:
Power supply range, input signal (range of values), input voltage/current?, output voltage/current ?, gain requirements (degree of feedback), differential mode yes/no ?, .....
(I am sure that I forgot something).

---------- Post added at 19:43 ---------- Previous post was at 19:41 ----------

Yes, for example: Topology of the filter structure (cascade approach or direct realization), pole-Q of the stages (cascade design),..

Hi LvW,

I absolutely agree with you,but i am looking for a general explanation or some mathematics that prove the claim that Active-RC filters are more linear than other filter implementations.I don't want to
relate the specs with a specific value of linearity that may be achieved.

But,as for the topology i am interested in cascading biquadratic stages to reach the order of the filter.

Thanks in advance.

Jimito,