Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Learning PIC Programming

Status
Not open for further replies.

nitsakh

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,
I am a newbie in PIC Programming,or for that matter embedded or micro controller programming . I have a PIC16F877A as well as the programmer and MPLAB along with HiTech C Compiler.
Firstly,I want to know how to connect the oscillator etc.
Secondly,I want to learn programming of PIC using C language.How do I go about it ?? What files to include,code etc.?? Please help.Please tell if there's any ebook or so.I intend to make a simple LED blinking program first !!Please help.
Thank You !

alrite..i give you an example file..try to figure out..that more helpful in future..

Attachments

• MPLAB C++.zip
    134.7 KB · Views: 253
Hi,
This should be your basic hardware diagram:
70_1290615956.png

This is the link to the compiler I recommend - mikroC:
mikroC PRO for PIC - C compiler for PIC microcontroller - mikroElektronika

This is the link to a free ebook on using mikroC for programming PICs:
PIC Microcontrollers - Programming in C - Free Online Book - mikroElektronika

This is a sample program using the given hardware in mikroC:
Code:
void main(void){
   PORTB = 0; //Removes initial value that PIC holds in PORTB
   TRISB = 0; //This tells the PIC that PORTB should be output
   do{
      PORTB = 255; //255 = 11111111 in binary, so all LED's connected to PORTB glow
      delay_ms(500); //Wait for 500ms
      PORTB = 0; //Turn all LEDs off
      delay_ms(500); //Wait for 500ms
   }while(1); //Continuously do this
}