Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how to simulate open loop gain with hspice

Status
Not open for further replies.

tailbit

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am new to analog world, can someone show me how to set up and write the hspice input file to simulate the open loop gain/phase margin for this single stage OP Amp? It's an OP amp with negative feedback.
Many thanks

The technique I use is to connect it in non-inverting configuration with an AC source on the non-inverting input. Put a very large resistor between the output and inverting input (e.g. 1G ohm). Add a very large capacitor (say 1Farad) from the inverting input to ground. The characteristic you will then get is the open loop gain & phase.

Keith.

Since TAILBIT is pretty "new to the analog world", we should mention that he should not expect to see the opamp dc gain as a result of this simulation.
Instead, there will be lower corner frequency in the region of 1/(2*Pi*R*C). In fact, that's the reason for the large values.

LvW said:
Since TAILBIT is pretty "new to the analog world", we should mention that he should not expect to see the opamp dc gain as a result of this simulation.
Instead, there will be lower corner frequency in the region of 1/(2*Pi*R*C). In fact, that's the reason for the large values.

Correct. Sorry I neglected to say that.

I think there are analysis modules you can put around functional blocks in some simulation software (e.g. Cadence) to achieve a similar result, but they vary from simulator to simulator.

Keith.