Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Mobile Charger Through the USB Port from Vehicle Battery

Status
Not open for further replies.

sankavit

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
bike mobile charger circuit

Hai all,

I am new to this and would like you to clarify my doubt. Here goes...

I need to provide a charger from a Bike's Battery (12V) to charge a mobile phone using the phone's USB.
My problem is that, Motorola Phones do not enter charging mode at all. My MP3 charges, but not my Motorola Phone. But using the same USB Cable, the phone charges in the PC. Can anyone guide me here? I am a little lost :)

mobile charger in bike circuit

Hai sankavit,
the problem was that you need to read protocols of your phone.
Because the battery of a Motorola Phone only charges when it is connected with an external device like PC, your original charger,etc.
However you can modify your original Motorola charger in such a way that remove the AC to DC converter circuit from that or bypass it and directly provide the DC supply to your charger and then try to charge your phone That will works perfectly ok.

mobile charger for bike circuit

thank you so much for your reply, but my problem is that I have a USB 2.0 to mini USB Cable and not a charger. So, is there any way that we can use it directly through a regulated 5V?

usb to vehicle charges

Hi sankavit,