Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need step by step guide for designing a balanced OTA

Status
Not open for further replies.

obeone

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
ota design

Hi

I am a beginner of analog circuit design
I like to learning by example but in a book don't have an example
for design a balanced cmos ota.

so, if I want to design a cmos balanced OTA.

I want to know that which paramter is most importance
such as gain , speed, power consumption , or anything ?
and each parameter have any effect to each other ?
such as
- increase gain but decrease speed..

and could you please to guide me a step by step to design a balance OTA..

because i want to know how to set an aspect ration of each mos in a circit ?

best regardly

ota design step by step

I think you might check Phillip Allen's book on p269
You can download the book from eBook forum

Re: OTA design step by step

I want to know that which paramter is most importance
such as gain , speed, power consumption , or anything ?
and each parameter have any effect to each other ?

Which parameter is more important depends on the application that this amplifier will be used in , usually u will find trade-offs between the different specs and u will have to optimize ur design to achieve most if not all of the specs.

these are some general steps for start:

1- if you have a limit for your power consumption, you can calculate your total allowalbe current (by knowing the value of your power supply)... if not,assume a reasonable limit, maybe around 5-10mw for 1.8v power supply