Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

An Approach to Fingerprint Filter Design

Status
Not open for further replies.

kaushi

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Finger Print Identifier

Hello Friends!
I am Kaushi and I am totally new to finger print matching as well as this site.
I am supposed to design a finger print identiofier for access control.

I did some reading , but I need ur help to carry this on.

Could any one of u ple..e.. z tell me whether minutiae capturing is better than correlation based method and some way to get a source code or a "comprehensible" algorithm to perform finger print capturing.

Re: Finger Print Identifier

You can try to test and decide the method you capture and make it ready to be stored in computer. Then, come out with a algorithm to enhance the fingerprint image and match them as well. There are a lot of papers can be downloaded from the internet about this topic. You read some of them, and decide the method you want to use in your system. Minutiae matching is quite effective but the computation is quite expensive, as there're many processes, I think.

Hi Leek,
Thankyou for the reply.I have already downloaded some documentation including Ramond Thai Thesis.But still haven't finished refering them.
And I have read ur conversations with mekka etc.(Did some downloading of those codes too....! :wink: But I will not directly use them.)

What was ur procedure?
As I understood u r figuring out the local patterns of the finger prints with poincare index. (This too I have to read more)
After that how to distinguish between bifurcation and ridge ending.