Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What is the Difference between a PCI Video Card and a PCI Express Video Card?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jarhead

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello all

Im a noob when it comes to this stuff and basically teaching myself about computers. The questions I have are:

1) What is the Difference between a PCI Video Card and a PCI Express Video Card?

2) Can you place a PCI Express Card into the PCI slot?

The reason I ask is cause I have 2 computers. One that I use for pictures movies and music (Media Center HP). The other one I use for Games such as World of Warcraft and F.E.A.R. I currently have a Geforce FX series (the actual # series evades me at the moment) this computer is the one that I want to replace the video card.

Thank you in advance for your help with these questions.

put a pcie 1.1 card in a pcix 16 slot

PCI Express is a higher enhanced version of old PCI architecture.
They have slightly different connectors, so you better don't use old PCI card on a PCI Express slot. Usually PCI Express is used for faster systems. Now a days there are AGP Video cards available on PCI Express.

pci vs pci-express

PCI is a parallel interface, PCI express is a multiple channel serial interface, they are not compatable, I doubt if they are physically the same.

pcie arbiter

thanks alot guys

what can i put in an pci express slot

Other than serial for PCI Express can have variable number of data paths. It can have x1, x2, x4, x8, x16 or x32 lines simultaneously.

pci-e x16