Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how to calculate the gain of this circuit?

Status
Not open for further replies.

wjxcom

Full Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, all: please look at this circuit which can be found in the book writed by Gray.
I find this circuit in the book "CMOS Circuit Design, Layout, and Simulation" writed by R.Jacob Baker too. in this book, Baker said the gain of this circuit is -gm6×(r04||r05), this value can be found in the equation 25-2 in the book writed by Baker.

Is this value is right? and why? and how to confirm the samll signal equivalent circuit?

Hi wjxcom!

I'm no expert in analog design but since no one else has replied I thought I might give it a try!
My reasoning goes like this.
M3 is a stiff current source sending a constant current through m4 m5 m6. This establishes a constant voltage drop in m4 and m5 (diode connected). So any small signal input gets absorbed across m6 and m3. So the gate to gate voltage b/w m1 and m2 remains fairly constant. The gain in my opinion should be close to 0.
Correct me if I'm wrong!

Giri

I think its gain must be -gM6 * roM3
because M4, M5 and M1, M2 make voltage follower (with gain of unity).

Regards,
Davood.

The gain of M3 and M6 is

g6*(rds3||rds6)

The output stage have a gain

(g1+g2)*RL/(1+(g1+g2)*RL)

Hi,

I feel the gain of the circuit is can be divided into 2 stages,

1) From M6 to M5 which is,

gm6/(gm5+g06)

2)From M2 to outpu, which is a source follower in this case.

gm2/(gm2+1/RL+go2+go1)

Multiplying these two will give the effective gain.

the other transistor are for biasing.

Prakash.