Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] [Moved]: OTA-C balanced cascode IC design

Status
Not open for further replies.

sherif96

Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am designing a balanced ota with cascode output stage attached is my ota schemaitc, however I am still new to IC designing I did not get the hang of the basics yet, such as transistors dimensions and current scaling, I am trying to bias all the transistors in the circuit however the top left and top bottom are always in triode region, I am using a Vdd of 1.2 maximum, what transistors dimensions and V for the two cascodes should I use in such circuit to bias the whole circuit ?

Attachments

• OTA-C.PNG
    OTA-C.PNG
    34.6 KB · Views: 183
  • IMG_20180312_093911.png
    IMG_20180312_093911.png
    100.7 KB · Views: 181

Increase V4 voltage at least 160mV, decrease V2 voltage at least 500mV. Use bigger W/L for top PMOS devices, first double them for example. Those have too high Vdsat.

Increase V4 voltage at least 160mV, decrease V2 voltage at least 500mV. Use bigger W/L for top PMOS devices, first double them for example. Those have too high Vdsat.

i am using L value =1u for and width of 4u for both NMOS and PMOS transistors, should I increase the ratio for PMOS or just decrease the ratio for the NMOS ones ?

I wouldn't decrease NMOS W/L. But increase PMOS, 4 times maybe. You should go below 200mV Vdsat for all devices. That is normal.

I wouldn't decrease NMOS W/L. But increase PMOS, 4 times maybe. You should go below 200mV Vdsat for all devices. That is normal.