Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to tell KiCad to generate netlist in spice format

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pushpkant

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am new to eeschema and I want to generate netlist which is recognized by ngspice.

When I generate netlist from KiCad, kicad is always shows net number starting from 1. But ngspice needs a net 0 to simulate.

I have tried to add zero from SPICE library but it is the same.

KiCad I am using is 4.0.7

There is one comment in netlist as

* To reorder the component spice node sequence add [Spice_Node_Sequence] user FIELD and define sequence: 2,1,0

I don't know what does it means. But It indicates that node name cane be changed in somewhere in KiCad. I am attaching a netlist of simple Resistor network which is generated by KiCad.

*****************************************************************************************************************

* /home/pushpkant/ki/network1/network1.cir

* EESchema Netlist Version 1.1 (Spice format) creation date: Fri Feb 16 19:05:05 2018

* To exclude a component from the Spice Netlist add [Spice_Netlist_Enabled] user FIELD set to: N
* To reorder the component spice node sequence add [Spice_Node_Sequence] user FIELD and define sequence: 2,1,0

* Sheet Name: /
R3 3 4 10
R1 1 4 10
R2 3 1 100
R4 2 3 100
R5 2 4 10
V1 1 4 DC 5V

.end

********************************************************************************************************************

Here the lowest node is number one, but ngspice need node to be start from 0.