Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] VHDL Coding for ASIC production (for Newbie)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexxk

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello guys!

I am an ebedded systems Master student and just started with my master thesis. Its about designing the digital part of a mixed circuit chip. I have experience coding VHDL for FPGA and I was wondering about something when making VHDL code for ASICs: I have access to standart cells from the foundry and I was wondering if I can use them like I use prebuilt blocks in an FPGA: can I just make an instance of an D-FF like I use a BUFG or MUX in a Xilinx FPGA? Is it recommended to do so as much as possible? I will most likely have an asynchronous design and I think it would be better when I can use std. cells and do the glue logic inbetween by myself and not trust the synthesis tools with everything (From my experience with FPGA, tools always want to produce synchronous circuits because thats how FPGAs work). Or does ASIC tools behave in a completly different way?

Thank you for your help!

To be noted:
Its about designing the digital part of a mixed circuit chip.

can I just make an instance of an D-FF like I use a BUFG or MUX in a Xilinx FPGA?
Why?
Why can't you write RTL code that will infer flops or MUX? Isn't that much easier?
BUFG - Leave it to the PnR guy!

When you are synth your design the std cells will automatically be used by the synth tool.

I will most likely have an asynchronous design and I think it would be better when I can use std. cells...