Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Two 12-bit ADCs SPI Coding with ATmega128 MCU

Status
Not open for further replies.

musmanm

Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello everyone!

I am very new to coding, especially for an application like this. My system needs data acquisition and processing and simultaneously displaying results on a 16x2 character LCD screen.

I have an RF return loss measurement system. I have to display the return loss on LCD screen on the same PCB board. There are two 12-bit ADCs (ADS7042) and the MCU I have is ATmega128.

ADC1 gives CODE (forward) = CODE_F
ADC2 gives CODE (reflected) = CODE_R

Both CODES have to be processed at the same time.

The equation to calculate return loss values in real time from the two ADCs codes is given as:

2018-01-20_232222.png

This equation has to be processed real-time for every different input, there will be two changed ADC codes and hence a different return loss value for every input.

The both ADCs has to simultaneously transmit digital data to ATmega128 via SPI communication protocol.

I want to code in C and I have just installed AVR Studio 4.

Can someone guide me on how to make a C code for SPI communication in this scenario or is there already some code which I can use for this application?

Thank you in advance.

Hi,

I'm confused.
Please give a signal flow diagram with description.

You speak about RF...but the ADCs are for 1Msmpl/s only.
I doubt that the ADC input really is RF...so what is it really?

Then you spaek about simultaneously data acquisition and processing.