+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 150, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    7
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    150
    Level
    1

    VHDL UART code written by Bert Cuzea of alse-fr.com

    hello,

    I want to take the data from the FPGA Spartan 3E board to PC. I take code from http://www.edaboard.com/thread183801.html.
    They give code to transmit the data from PC to FPGA.
    and redy to use ISE file for Spartnan 3E.

    I have spartan 3E board, regarding UCF file I have a question.
    #FTDI 245 BM control pins
    NET "RDUSB_B" LOC = "P43";
    NET "RDUSB_B" PULLUP;

    NET "WRUSB" LOC = "P44";
    NET "WRUSB" PULLDOWN;

    I am not getting for what they use this switches?I also

    •   Alt3rd January 2018, 11:17

      advertising

        
       

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 57,471, Level: 58
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    11,705
    Helped
    2715 / 2715
    Points
    57,471
    Level
    58

    Re: VHDL UART code written by Bert Cuzea of alse-fr.com

    Hi,

    I don't know about the use code....

    But what confuses me is "UART" and "FT245BM" because the FTDI chip is a parallel interface chip, no UART interface.
    If you want UART then look for FT232.
    If you want to use FT245, then avoid to talk about UART.

    Btw: FT245BM is obsolete.

    Klaus
    Please don´t contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. Thank you.



    •   Alt3rd January 2018, 12:01

      advertising

        
       

  3. #3
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 150, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    7
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    150
    Level
    1

    Re: VHDL UART code written by Bert Cuzea of alse-fr.com

    thank you for reply

    I am new with VHDL and FPGA.
    I just want to take data out from spartan 3E to PC
    the data is in digital form and it is continuous.

    I thought I can do using UART.



    •   Alt3rd January 2018, 12:20

      advertising

        
       

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Points: 241,334, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    41,891
    Helped
    12754 / 12754
    Points
    241,334
    Level
    100

    Re: VHDL UART code written by Bert Cuzea of alse-fr.com

    The FTDI interface definition isn't related to the UART code you posted. If you want to understand what it's used for, review the documentation of your development kit.



  5. #5
    Junior Member level 2
    Points: 192, Level: 2

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Bydgoszcz - Poland
    Posts
    22
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    192
    Level
    2

    Re: VHDL UART code written by Bert Cuzea of alse-fr.com

    Quote Originally Posted by Krishna_k View Post
    hello,

    I want to take the data from the FPGA Spartan 3E board to PC. I take code from http://www.edaboard.com/thread183801.html.
    They give code to transmit the data from PC to FPGA.
    and redy to use ISE file for Spartnan 3E.
    Hello,

    check this code (Verilog) I am using it on "Numato ElbertV2" (Spartan3A) in my projects and it is working fine:

    https://github.com/FPGAwars/FPGA-per...-receiver-unit

    https://github.com/FPGAwars/FPGA-per...ansmitter-unit

    The code is good documented on WWW site I point. I made two sample projects based on that code:

    1) Comunication (one way UART Tx) from FPGA board to µC Arduino UNO using RS-485 protocol (UART-RS485 converter is used)

    2) Comunication (one wayUART Tx) from FPGA board to µC Arduino UNO using just UART (and LCD display shield attached to Arduino - just one line used)

    These project with full code (FPGA ISE project + Arduino program) are described by me on polish robotic forum www.forbot.pl.

    Because post on www.forbot.pl are in polish languege, I do not disclose links to them.

    Regards



--[[ ]]--