Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Digital peak current mode control

Status
Not open for further replies.

tarikelec

Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello everybody,

As I am new to chip design and peak current mode control, I have a project where I am asked to design a digital peak current mode control of boost converter and implement it on ASIC.
so please, if you have any good references where i can learn to design such hardware share it with me.

best regards

You'll have to be more specific about what you mean by "digital." Does this mean you'll use ADCs for sampling output voltage, and a DSP for control?

Peak current mode control is best done by sampling the current waveform with a simple comparator, since sampling with an ADC has too much latency. The reference of the comparator is digitally generated with a DAC, and if the DAC is fast enough it can digitally implement slope compensation as well.

I'd recommend studying app notes for digital controllers based on microcontrollers, like TI or microchip.

Peak current mode control is best done by sampling the current waveform with a simple comparator
I think "sampling" in this context is misleading. The current waveform is always acquired and provided to the input of the comparator i.e. analogically. The fact that the comparator changes state only when the current reaches the reference makes it look like it is sampled at that point, but it is not. The current is acquired continuously.

All Boost converters work to some extent by regulating the ramped or integrated current and flyback from a pulse voltage.