Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

HFSS and Coax Feed Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

dshoter13

Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello all,

I am fairly new to EM and Antenna modelling and simulation, therefore, I beg a pardon on some of the following non-sense questions that I might inquire.

Recently I have been playing around with HFSS in order to simulate a patch antenna. The patch antenna is fed by a coax cable. To perform this simulation I followed the Help on the HFSS manual examples and set everything accordingly. Regarding the antenna simulation and modelling I understood its working principle. My main question is on the coax feed; according to the HFSS setup, the coax feed is simply set by using a inner conductor (PEC) with 0.7 mm radius and an vacuum outer cylinder with 1.6 mm radius, both considering 0.5 cm length. After this, we set up a circle with the same radius as the outer cylinder at the end and assign a wave port excitation. My question is concerning the behaviour of such structure, since in real life we will have both inner and outer conductors as well as a different dielectric. Since we do not set up the external shield, how can the simulator know the excitation mode/way we employ?