+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Full Member level 5
    Points: 3,218, Level: 13
    Achievements:
    Created Blog entry 7 years registered
    udhay_cit's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    319
    Helped
    36 / 36
    Points
    3,218
    Level
    13
    Blog Entries
    1

    Altium Designer 18 with lot of BUGs

    Altium designer 18(Beta) released with new look and lot of bugs. AD18.0.7 is Ok, but the AD18.0.8 new release is loaded with bugs and unusable for me. Anyone using this version?

    Udhay

    •   Alt27th November 2017, 08:28

      advertising

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 25,716, Level: 39

    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,628
    Helped
    1111 / 1111
    Points
    25,716
    Level
    39

    Re: Altium Designer 18 with lot of BUGs

    It was predictable, no surprise..
    Every new software will have plenty of bugs, no doubt.
    BTW, I have never liked Altium and will never be..



  3. #3
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 32, Level: 1
    Edison517's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    3
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    32
    Level
    1

    Re: Altium Designer 18 with lot of BUGs

    In the 3yrs I used Altium (v16, then v17), Altium would always have horrible bugs, and they never got fixed. They would introduce new features (yay!), but new bugs would get introduced, in addition to old bugs that never got fixed (boo!). Horrible bugs, like the whole application crashing if you clicked outside of a dialog box or something, or sub-dialog boxes being blacked out for no reason. I really like the interface, but Altium is almost bloat-ware in my opinion. They should really focus on fixing bugs rather than adding features.

    If I were you, I wouldn't use their beta software at all...let other people be the guinea pigs and wait for official release...maybe even a 18.1 release so all THOSE bugs can get fixed (yeah right...)



    •   Alt28th November 2017, 17:52

      advertising

        
       

  4. #4
    Full Member level 5
    Points: 3,218, Level: 13
    Achievements:
    Created Blog entry 7 years registered
    udhay_cit's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    319
    Helped
    36 / 36
    Points
    3,218
    Level
    13
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Altium Designer 18 with lot of BUGs

    Altium also realized about the bugs and crashes of their software. They have taken a first step towards BUG free official release by introducing the Beta release for the first time. The x64 architecture is an excellent move and you can really see the different in 3D rendering speed.

    Still the software crashes and they really minimized the BUG count. First I started to use AD18.0.7 and replaced with new release AD18.0.8. Suddenly all the primitives are disable to select or modify. After switching back to previous version, problem remains same. I just created new folder inside "Program Files" and installed the AD18.0.8, now its working fine without any problem.

    In my opinion the latest version AD18.0.8 is BUG free compare to the AD17 version and ready for official release. They don't provide any Release Notes for the new version because its a Beta release, so we have no way to know the list of BUG corrections.

    Finally AD18.0.8 new release is BUG free (As of now) and worth to try.



  5. #5
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 25,716, Level: 39

    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,628
    Helped
    1111 / 1111
    Points
    25,716
    Level
    39

    Re: Altium Designer 18 with lot of BUGs

    Altium did again !!!

    It will be very funny to work with it.



  6. #6
    Newbie level 2
    Points: 21, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    2
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    21
    Level
    1

    Re: Altium Designer 18 with lot of BUGs

    I just filed a problem report with Altium support about the ability to select part properties in the schematic disappearing. It worked for a while and then stopped. Not sure why but I would not recommend using Designer 18 for any real work projects yet.

    For what it's worth I'm using 18.0.9 to evaluate if we should switch to it or stay with 17.0.11

    - - - Updated - - -

    Altium support came back with a quick answer. Seems there is a problem with a recent Windows update. In case someone else has hit this issue here is the relevant portion of the support response:

    "..this is caused due to a problem in Windows Update: Security and Quality Rollup for the .NET Framework 4.6, 4.6.1, 4.6.2, 4.7, and 4.7.1 for Windows 7 SP1 and Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 and .NET Framework 4.6 on Windows Server 2008 SP2 (KB 4055002).
    To work around this problem for now, you can use one of the methods, described in
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-au/...-in-wpf-apps-t"


    1 members found this post helpful.

    •   Alt12th January 2018, 17:22

      advertising

        
       

  7. #7
    Newbie level 1
    Points: 1, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    1
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1
    Level
    1

    Re: Altium Designer 18 with lot of BUGs

    Altium Designer without bugs is not Altium maybe it's another program.I've tested la last version of Altium and a lot of things were changed from the shortcuts(you must to forgot a lot of shortcuts from the previous version).If you you Microsoft Acces 2007 for manage the library you got some problems with the new architecture on 64 bit.
    A short video how looks the new interface:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QOPhiY9s0CA



--[[ ]]--