Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Antenna output voltage vs. received RF power

Status
Not open for further replies.

ArticCynda

Advanced Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone,

I'm new to RF design and aware that this may be a trivial and/or silly question for the RF experts on here.

I'm wondering which parameters, for planar antennas (such as patch antennas), are affecting the output voltage of the antenna (Vpp). Is that the frequency of the signal(s), the power of the received signal(s), a combination thereof, or something completely different? Second part of the question: for a certain antenna design, is it possible to deduce the received power strength and/or frequency from the output voltage, possibly with calibration?

If I wanted to measure the received power level in a very narrow band of frequencies, what would be the best approach to do this?

If anyone could direct me to relevant literature on this topic, I would be very grateful.

the output voltage of the antenna is dependent on the combination of the power of the received signal, the bandwidth of the antenna and the impedance of the load connected to it.

To measure the received power level in a very narrow band of frequencies , best approach is to have the test instrument for that purpose.

the output voltage of the antenna is dependent on the combination of the power of the received signal, the bandwidth of the antenna and the impedance of the load connected to it.