Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[moved] Time-code decoder - SMPTE - BiPhase Mark - clock recovery - full design

Status
Not open for further replies.

orso135

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello! :)
I am a just-graduated engineer and right now I am doing an internship in Japan. My task is to develop a SMPTE time code decoder on a FPGA ALTERA DE0 TERASIC and display the time-code on the 7-segment displays.
I have attended two courses at the university about digital design, but up to now I have no practical experience and unfortunately my supervisor knows nothing about VHDL.

Quick summary of the theory behind the timecode:
• SMPTE timecode is a set of cooperating standards to label individual frames of video or film with a time code. Timecodes are added to film, video or audio material, and have also been adapted to synchronize music.
(Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SMPTE_timecode )
• Timecode is encoded using LTC
(Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linear_timecode )
• The bits are encoded using the biphase mark code (also known as FM): a 0 bit has a single transition at the start of the bit period. A 1 bit has two transitions, at the beginning and middle of the period. This encoding is self-clocking.(http://www.philrees.co.uk/articles/timecode.htm )

This is the basic design I came up with and I would like to have your opinion about it

The first step is to decode the time-code (encoded in Bi-Phase Mark). In the figure below there is the data-path of the Bi-Phase decoder.