Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Problems with lm338k

Status
Not open for further replies.

edwinvarghese

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm a newbie to analog circuit design. I'm doing a project of building a Robotic arm. The arm have a servo of 41KG/CM torque.
https://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking...igital_servo_w_heat_sink_40kg_18sec_170g.html

I'm facing difficulties with designing the power supply for the circuit. Now m using LM338k for providing (output 7.2V) power for the servo in order to get more current I'm connecting output from 2 LM338K and a LM338p. The input to three regulator IC's are 12V/5A. I also tried the input with a 12v/7Ah battery still no help SERVO DOESNT TAKES THE WEIGHT(I'm not overloading the servo, m only giving half of its capable torque in my design but still it doesnt works) :(

Can I use this for powering my servos??? If yes what should be the input current???

10A.png
15A.jpg

Someone please help me with this :( THANKS IN ADVANCE

The Chinese servo does not give a spec for its maximum current so it probably draws more current than you have.
The LM338 is not a generator. If three can produce an output of 15A then their input must total 15A, not 5A.
If the output of your circuit is 7.2V when it was powering the loaded servo then your circuit works perfectly but the servo is no good.

The LM307 is obsolete but the circuit needs an opamp like it that works with its inputs at the positive supply. Which opamp did you use?

The Chinese servo does not give a spec for its maximum current so it probably draws more current than you have.