Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Test bench and verification of code

Status
Not open for further replies.

hassan590

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am new in VHDL. I wrote a code of decrement counter in which counter picks integer from the array and counts it down to zero and increments the check output. I want you guys to verify if the code is logically correct. If yes then how can i test it using the test bench.

Code:
entity counter is
port(clk :in bit;
check : out integer);
end counter;     

architecture imp of counter is
type my_array is array(natural range<>) of integer;
constant set:my_array(1 to 5):= (2,4,6,8,10);--array of 5 integers
signal count:integer:=set(1); --initiating count with integer at first location of array 
signal t : integer;
begin
process(clk)
variable i : integer:= 1;--to be used to indicate the locations of array 
begin
if (clk='1' and clk'event) and (count>0) then
count<=count-1;
elsif (clk='1' and clk'event) and (i<5) then 
i:=i+1;
count<= set(i);
t<=t+1;
end if;
end process;
check<=t;
end imp;

I think you need to read a book on logic design.

Code:
if (clk='1' and clk'event) and (count>0) then
along with an else clause of
Code:
elsif (clk='1' and clk'event) and (i<5) then
That's a gated clock with the gating signal two different compare operations. :-(

I guarantee a sythesis tool will choke on that if statement you wrote.