Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

help to add features to DE2-115 tutorials

Status
Not open for further replies.

jhon.c

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all,

I'm completely new in the world of FPGA design
and I want to make a small project.
The idea is the choose one tutorial made by altera (DE2-115) (I'm interesting by the web server tutorial)
and try to enhance the design (adding nios2 processor or other devices) and compare
with the original one in term of execution time and so on ...
I don't know if it's good idea to start or no !
if so please any suggestions how to do it, especially how to find the part of the design that should be enhanced
if no please any other suggestions !

thanks in advance to this great community !

I'm completely new in the world of FPGA design
and I want to make a small project.

In that case it may be a better idea to first blink a led, or make an UART, or do a counter + segment display or something. That is generally easier that mucking about with softcore mcu's. After you get that working you will inevitably have learned some things you were not expecting. :p After you get that to work you can always hop back to your plan to use a nios2 processor.

Reactions: jhon.c

jhon.c

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Thank for your suggestions
but when I said I'm new that means I only can made a tutorial from altera
I never designer my own project
for my undergraduate studies I should design a digital circuit using verilog and altera fpga
so it should be a little bit interesting then altera's tutorial ,but no so complicated just to learn basics digital design.