Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

image compression using wavelet transform & DCT

Status
Not open for further replies.

subasni

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
image compression using dct

i'm doing a project titled comparison between wavelet transform and other dsp methods for the best image compression. i'm very new to these topic, so i need any kind soul to help me. i thought of using matlab to do the compression. or is it better to do it in c++. i dunno... help!

image compression using wavelet transform

Hi subasni

I have not implemented wavelet compression in Matlab.
But in Matlab there is extensive Wavelet toolbox with several examples in compression area.
So if you use Matlab we got a set of ready to use primitives (functions).
You have to select Matlab if you need to investigate wavelet compression but not in real-time.

If you need real time experiments then you have to select C/C++.

Wavelet is selected as compresion transform for the jpeg 2000 standard.
So you may check it also.

Best Regards
Dora

image compression using wavelet & dct

subasni said:
i'm doing a project titled comparison between wavelet transform and other dsp methods for the best image compression. i'm very new to these topic, so i need any kind soul to help me. i thought of using matlab to do the compression. or is it better to do it in c++. i dunno... help!

hi,
i am also interested in that topic.if u have any study material plz upload it.
thanx.

image compression using dct in matlab

Hi subasni