Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

porting a C program, the ARM7 to Cortex-M3

Status
Not open for further replies.

rmedeiros

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm working on a project and i need 2 thinks. I'm a new firmware programmer, and really need help.
1- I have a complete program written and compiled in "C", compiled on keil. It is possible, and easy, port my program to CORTEX-M3?
2- Do you have a good tutorial about programing and compiling on keil for CORTEX-M3? i need something for starters programmers.

very thanks

rmedeiros said:
1- I have a complete program written and compiled in "C", compiled on keil. It is possible, and easy, port my program to CORTEX-M3?

It is possible, this is the power of C. If this complete program is well structured and organized, then the only thing you should care about, is the low level routines (ports, timers, A/D etc). However, if peripherals handling from higher level routines is invoved, then you should find these spots and change them too. If you succesfully edit and debug the code, you secured your new project and you can start upgrating. Hardware routines first (since your new controller is better than your old one I guess) and the last part (if you believe it is necessary which I believe it is), is to optimize the code. You will read and find out what is the effective C programming way for this architecture and will edit your code accordingly. So the answer is, edit the low level succesfully and the hard work is done.

Hope this helps.

Last edited:
rmedeiros said:
I mean, i'm a starter programmer! :D