Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Counter program problem..

Status
Not open for further replies.

jimmy_tag

Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am a beginner in VHDL.
I have designed a Counter form 0 to 9 and displaying it on 7 seg.
For delay i used the simple loop statement from 0 to 50000...
my code is written below..
My problem is when i am trying to compile code it dont found any errors it just keep doing analysis and no compilation is done.. i compiled some simple programms they are working good... i dont know whether it is a problem of code or what...
( I am using quartus 9.2)

library ieee;
use ieee.std_logic_1164.all;
use ieee.std_logic_unsigned.all;

entity counter is
port(
clk,rst : in std_logic;

op: out std_logic_vector (6 downto 0));
end counter;

architecture count of counter is

begin
process(clk,rst)
variable m : std_logic_vector (3 downto 0) :="0000";

constant max: integer:=50000;
variable cot: integer:=00000;
variable flag: std_logic;
begin

while rst /= '0' loop

loop

if (clk'event and clk='1') then
cot:=cot+1;
end if;
exit when cot=max;
end loop;

flag:='1';

if m="1010" then
m:="0000";
elsif flag='1' then
m := m + 1;
end if;
if(m="0000") then
op<="1000000";
elsif(m="0001") then
op<="1111001";
elsif(m="0010") then
op<="0100100";
elsif(m="0011") then
op<="0110000";
elsif(m="0100") then
op<="0011001";
elsif(m="0101") then
op<="0010010";
elsif(m="0110") then
op<="0000010";
elsif(m="0111") then
op<="1111000";
elsif(m="1000") then
op<="0000000";
elsif(m="1001") then
op<="0010000";
else
op<="1111111";
end if;

flag:='0';
end loop;
end process;
end count;