Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Difference between Hspice & HspiceS, Spectre and Spectre

Status
Not open for further replies.

terryssw

Full Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hspice

I am a Newbie here, Can somebody tell what is the difference between Hspice and HspiceS simulator in Cadence? Also for Spectre and SpectreS?
Thanks very much! :wink:

hspices hspiced

I think S means Socket. That is to say, if you have the license of Hspice, you can use the Hspice simulator in Cadence by the socket.
If any error others please correct.

spectre spice

What's the meaning of Socket?

hspices

It means "connect, contact, join,etc". I think it is used between the different simulator tools from different EDA company.

hspiced hspices

Hi,

there are two simulation "methodes" in cadence dfII:
1. direct simulation approach, only spectre
2. socket simulation approach, hspice,hsim......
the direct simulation approach is only used for the build in spectre simulator. cadence say it is more efficient than the socket simulations, because there the netlist have to be translated first into a cds-spice netlist.

but the question about spectre and spectreS, i can't answer too.

greetings,
hqqh

hspice spectre

spectreS stands for spectre in Spice-Socket. So the netlist is similar to spice. In the analog artist the components are netlisted as Spice primitives where most simulator commands are in spectre native language. Spectre themselve differentiate between spectre native syntax and Spice syntax with a language switch command.

SpectreS and spectre netllisting both are relative slow compared to others.