Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

help me check my printed dipole antenna project using HFSS!

Status
Not open for further replies.

hntko

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
material: rogers rt/duroid 5880(tm)

Hi all,

I am a beginner with HFSS. I have its verson 10. Now, I try to design a printed dipole antenna using HFSS. The project have been design alreadly but it seems that there maybe some problems. As can be seen from the S-parameter result figure in this project, the antenna in the project works at quite different frequency (around 5GHz) than that I expected (around 2,4 GHz). Here are some detailed information:
1. The patch: 50mm x 50 mm x 1.475 mm, material: Rogers RT/duroid 5880 (tm)
2. The dipole:
Length of arm: 22 mm
Length of the whole dipole: 46 mm
Width: 3mm
Material: pec
3. Excitation:
Port: Wave port
Type: Using SMA connector which was downloaded from this forum

The project is attached with this message. Please check my project and show me if there is any problem.

Thank you so so much!

Le

printed dipole

Hello

Mismatch of Impedance is there, check the vswr plot, at 2.5Ghz, u r getting 10.22
which is not correct, ideal value is 1, values between 1-2 is accepted.

regards
Avinash

hfss sma project

Hello Avinash,

Thank you very much. Yes, VSWR plot shows that its value at 2.5GHz is not acceptable. But at 4.96 GHz VSWR plot agrees with S-plot. VSWR is equal to 1.10. It means that the antenna works well at 4.96GHz.