Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Urgent help with VHDL codes

Status
Not open for further replies.

Abi88

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hello all,
i am newbie here and i am currently working on an assignment.
for this assignment, i need to take in 10 bytes of data serially from RD232 into FPGA using VHDL codes and then display out on the 7-segment using MAX chip.besides, they can stored in SRAM.

i got no idea at all on how to start of this stuff. does anyone got the idea how they works? please tell me the basic concept and as well as explain in a block diagram or flow chart. further details how baud rate,frequency etc influent the program...

i need it urgently.

thank you!!

hi
you just first write code for transmitt data from serial interface i.e.RS232 & get synthesized it with synthesis tool maybe XST.for this you should know how RS232 works.
regards
shraddha

it is transmit? i thought should write a code on receiving?because i am taking data in from RS232...

thanks!

You will need to write your VHDL code to generate a decoder as you need to read the RS232 code and output a value on your 7 segment display.

Look at how a decoder works in VHDL (there are plenty of examples) in whoevers book you have as a reference. You will see that they take a known value coming into the device (you do know what data you will be recieving dont you) and they use a decoder to output whatever information they need.