Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how a transister different from a vacuum tube

Status
Not open for further replies.

saubhik

Full Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hai
im very new to electronics plz help me how a transistor different from vacuum tube

in construction and in functional:?::arrow:

Transistor(bjt) is smaller and lightweight; had no heater requirement , had rugged construction and is more efficient.

there's some difference between bjt and vacuum tube. I advise u completely forget about vacuum there is no usage nowadays, save your time for studying about transistors and their operation as amplifiers

In BJT, the input current is the flow of the carriers having the energy higher than the energy barrier caused by the junction and bias, while in vacuum tubes, the input current is the flow of the carriers having the energy higher than the work function of the cathode metal.

Transistor: Solid State, based on semiconductor charge carriers.
Tube: Based on thermionic emission, obsolete almos everywhere.

transistors are bipolar(BJT) involving two types of carrirers

vacuum tubes are not really that obsolete, although there only remains a few of its family. the crt (cathode ray tube) in your tv sets is considered a vacuum tube. some parts on your tv station transmitter also uses vacuum tubes because tubes can handle larger power than transistors (though some clevers ckt designs also enables transistor to deliver high power but using more parts than their vacuum tube counterpart).