Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Newbie questions about Layout

Status
Not open for further replies.

electronics_sky

Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am a newbie in Layout. Hope anyone can help me to answer the question below:

1. Why should we separate 2 metal lines far apart? Except to avoid shortening and crosstalk.
2. If a DRC for spacing of 2 metal is "x", why sometime we need to make it for greater than x?
3. What are the important of maintaining the symetry of layout?
4. What is matching in layout? is it about Symmetry and common centroid between devices ?
5. What are the things that we need to consider when drawing a analog/digital layout?
6. what is "finger" in layout?
7. How to minimise the area of layout? except share the diffusion of transistor?
8. What is the most concern issue of a layout engineer?
9. What are the effect of crosstalk? induce noise?
10. How is one evaluate a layout? What aspect we should look into? parasitic resistance/capacitance/inductance? what more?

Please kindly add in any information that a newbie should know.

thanks a lot.

cheers!

Re: Good Layout

Hi Guy i have figure out the answer myself, please correct me if i am wrong.

1. Why should we separate 2 metal lines far apart? Except to avoid shortening and crosstalk.

Apart from that, due to the inefficient/nonideal in fabrication process, the edge of the metal is not a straight line. However they are like a "saw". So this may cause both metal to short together.