Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Which is better to model FSMs: Matlab or Verilog?

Status
Not open for further replies.

nczx

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi..

I've modelled FSM in Matlab before and it works fine. I know that FSM can also be modelled in Verilog but I've never tried it before.

My question is, between Matlab and Verilog, which is a better tool to model FSMs?

Thanks =]
nikki

matlab state machine

I haven't used Matlab to do that but Verilog is a standard EDA language. You should know how to code state machines in Verilog.

difference between matlab and verilog

i think it depends on the platform u want to have ur state machine implemented on at the end

matlab and verilog hdl softwares

If you are going to implement a state machine it has to be in something like verilog. But maybe Matlab can generate the HDL from the model?

matlab by palnitkar

Hi Gliss and Salma,

Thank you for responding!

Salma,

What kind of platform is Verilog? I have tried to find out more about Verilog, like what exactly is Verilog, what are the principles and applications of Verilog but there aren't any documentation on that, as far as I can find. Does anyone know any good websites that can explain ABOUT Verilog and not HOW to use Verilog?

Gliss,

As far as I know, I don't think MATLAB can in any way generate the HDL from the model... (I think)

Thanks,
Nikki

matlab to verilog

hi,