+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25
  1. #1
    Member level 4
    Points: 1,694, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    74
    Helped
    4 / 4
    Points
    1,694
    Level
    9

    what will happen if we dont use filler cells?

    Hi Everybody,.

    I understand that we need filler cells to fill the gaps in standard cells.But I want to

    know what will happen if there are gaps in standard cells.

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 1,497, Level: 8

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,497
    Level
    8

    Re: what will happen if we dont use filler cells?

    DRC failed?



  3. #3
    Full Member level 1
    Points: 2,224, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    San Jose CA
    Posts
    116
    Helped
    6 / 6
    Points
    2,224
    Level
    10

    Re: what will happen if we dont use filler cells?

    It doesn't matter if there is gap, but it's a waste to leave the space open. The filler cells can be used as ECO spare cells. When chip is back with some bugs, you can use these cells to do metal ECO.
    In case you do any ECO, you can try the GUI netlist ECO tool, GOF, which can do functional/metal ECO. Check the link out
    http://www.nandigits.com/metal_only_eco.htm


    1 members found this post helpful.

  4. #4
    Member level 4
    Points: 1,694, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    74
    Helped
    4 / 4
    Points
    1,694
    Level
    9

    Re: what will happen if we dont use filler cells?

    Hi Nandy thanks for the information. But inserting filler cells is negatively affecting my

    timing. I want to know the negative affects if we dont put filler cells.

    Thanks in advance



  5. #5
    Full Member level 1
    Points: 2,224, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    San Jose CA
    Posts
    116
    Helped
    6 / 6
    Points
    2,224
    Level
    10

    what will happen if we dont use filler cells?

    You are not supposed to move the normal cells when inserting the filler cells.
    Only when timing is clean, you can do the insertion.
    You would have difficult to do metal ECO if there is no spare cells (filler cells)



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  6. #6
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 1,527, Level: 8

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    7
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    1,527
    Level
    8

    what will happen if we dont use filler cells?

    I think inserting fill cells is for mechanical concern.



  7. #7
    Member level 4
    Points: 1,703, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    78
    Helped
    2 / 2
    Points
    1,703
    Level
    9

    what will happen if we dont use filler cells?

    I also think inserting filler cells is for metal ECO, as description of Nandy, but greensand's hears with reason, too.



  8. #8
    Member level 1
    Points: 1,507, Level: 8

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    33
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    1,507
    Level
    8

    Re: what will happen if we dont use filler cells?

    The filler cell is used to connect well and power line of standard cell and to do this is good for yield.



  9. #9
    Member level 5
    Points: 2,185, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    85
    Helped
    10 / 10
    Points
    2,185
    Level
    10

    Re: what will happen if we dont use filler cells?

    hi jcchan,
    Quote Originally Posted by jcchan
    The filler cell is used to connect well and power line of standard cell and to do this is good for yield.
    could u plz explain this?
    i m not sure how this effects the yeid?



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  10. #10
    Full Member level 1
    Points: 2,164, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    118
    Helped
    19 / 19
    Points
    2,164
    Level
    10

    Re: what will happen if we dont use filler cells?

    Hi Guys,

    Filler cells is not related to yield, mechancial stress etc. It is also not to connect power rail.

    The main reason for filler celll is not to have DRC. For example, every standard cell has a nwell. If two standard cells are place side by side with a gap (the smallest gap is called the placment grid. It is larger than the manufacturing grid. Maybe it is M2 pitch, I am not sure...), then there will be a nwell-to-nwell DRC violation. By closing the gap with the filler cell, than it the nwell in the filler cell will abut the nwells into one nwell.

    Since we need filler cell, additional function has been added to the filler cell, like well/substrate tap, transistor array, decoupling caps etc.



    Regards,
    Eng Han
    www.eda-utilities.com


    4 members found this post helpful.

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  11. #11
    Member level 4
    Points: 1,703, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    78
    Helped
    2 / 2
    Points
    1,703
    Level
    9

    what will happen if we dont use filler cells?

    Hello leenghan, your's speaking is very clear, but could you sure that the filler cell is only for DRC check?



  12. #12
    Member level 4
    Points: 1,694, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    74
    Helped
    4 / 4
    Points
    1,694
    Level
    9

    Re: what will happen if we dont use filler cells?

    hi leeenghan,
    Thanks for the information.You explanation is very good.



  13. #13
    Full Member level 1
    Points: 2,164, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    118
    Helped
    19 / 19
    Points
    2,164
    Level
    10

    Re: what will happen if we dont use filler cells?

    Hi semi_jl,

    The main reason is not to have DRC, but it is not the only use. To summaries, if you don't put filler cell, than you will have DRC error.



    Regards,
    Eng Han
    www.eda-utilities.com



  14. #14
    Full Member level 4
    Points: 2,440, Level: 11

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    233
    Helped
    16 / 16
    Points
    2,440
    Level
    11

    Re: what will happen if we dont use filler cells?

    There is a CMP process in chip fabrication process,

    it require some amount of metal density to ensure

    CMP's uniformity, so we need filler cells to fill

    the gaps.

    best regards




    Quote Originally Posted by coolrak
    Hi Everybody,.

    I understand that we need filler cells to fill the gaps in standard cells.But I want to

    know what will happen if there are gaps in standard cells.

    Thanks in advance



  15. #15
    Member level 3
    Points: 2,777, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    65
    Helped
    6 / 6
    Points
    2,777
    Level
    12

    what will happen if we dont use filler cells?

    Can we assume that if std.cells are placed in different rows, its possible to use filler cell as feedthrough to connect them using vertical routing ?


    1 members found this post helpful.

  16. #16
    Full Member level 1
    Points: 2,164, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    118
    Helped
    19 / 19
    Points
    2,164
    Level
    10

    Re: what will happen if we dont use filler cells?

    Hi r_p_sanna,

    You can do this, but you shouldn't. Use placement blockage to do this.

    If there is no metal geometries in the filler except at the power rail, then filler cells should be inserted after detailed routing or just before tape-out for full DRC/LVS check. If not, it can be insert after CTS (just before detailed routing).

    Regards,
    Eng Han



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  17. #17
    Member level 4
    Points: 1,703, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    78
    Helped
    2 / 2
    Points
    1,703
    Level
    9

    what will happen if we dont use filler cells?

    Hi, leeenghan, I think I should agree with you.



  18. #18
    Member level 3
    Points: 2,777, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    65
    Helped
    6 / 6
    Points
    2,777
    Level
    12

    Re: what will happen if we dont use filler cells?

    Hi,
    thanks for the info. Read about feedthroughs in ASIC book, but wasn't sure about using it in filler cells.



  19. #19
    Member level 5
    Points: 2,185, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    85
    Helped
    10 / 10
    Points
    2,185
    Level
    10

    what will happen if we dont use filler cells?

    Hi,

    Thanks Leenghan and Funster for ur valuable inputs.
    Does anybody have some reference to get more idea and how it can be done??

    Thanks



  20. #20
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 130, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    13
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    130
    Level
    1

    Re: what will happen if we dont use filler cells?

    what are the DRC violations we are getting placing nwells of two standard cells side by side?



--[[ ]]--