Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Does hardware engineer draw the pcb by themselves?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ilikebbs

Advanced Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am a hardware engineer. I only draw the schematic and sent the netlist to layout engineer.
I want to know if hardware engineer draw the pcb themselves in US and in Europe.
thanks.

I do not know the US, but in Europe, PCBs are not drawn by the hardware engineer. You only draw the schematics.

Here in the Philippines, we do the same thing. We have a team of pcb engineers who do the layout for us but with a bit of guidance.

One company I once worked for had the policy that engineers were not allowed to do the layout themselves. To prevent bad board layout (neat, all in a row) I used to go and sit next to the girl in the drawing office doing my layouts. It took some time to convince her that a nice looking neat board layout maybe totally useless to me! So basically I told her where to place the critical components and tracks. Later when I became project manager I managed to have engineers be allowed to do at least the critical placement and routing themseves. Saved a lot of wasted time and re-do's at the end.

If you do the layout yourself or be at least involved during the layout, the whole process of testing and debugging becomes that much easier because you already have a feel for the board, without the need to hunt for components and testpoints between schematics and part placement on the pcb.

I guess it depends on comapnies...