Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

very nice forum... need help designing circuit.

Status
Not open for further replies.

wontonjohnny

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
calculate time monostabile lm555

let me say ive run into forums who dont want any DIY'ers in it. This is like the only site that doesnt mind helping out newbies.

i dont know much about eletrical engineering but i am a mechanical engineer.

ok i need help designing a circuit.

heres what i need it to do. should be simple to you guys

scenario:
i need a switch that has to be closed for a set amout of time (say 1 minute) before it closes another.

power source is ~ 30 acv

please use simple terms, and a list of the parts i will need.
thanks.

switch on delay

Considering your level of knowledge I suggest buying a relay module with a timer.
You apply power to it through a switch then after an adjustable delay it closes it's contacts. The contacts will stay closed until the switch is opened removing the power to the module.

A cursory glance at at the web finds the M3DOM from Broyce Control.
**broken link removed**

Runs on anything between 24V and 240V AC or DC.
If I understand what you want correctly all you need is one of those and some wire to connect it up.

https://www.broycecontrol.com/PDF/M3DOM-1-B.PDF

Electrical distributors in your country will have somthing equivalent.

You can use 555 timer in the monostabile configuration (see picture below).