Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Getting started with a tms470?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NeTo

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
tms470

Hello, I'm an electornics udergraduate student. I'm just getting started with electronic courses (just finished all math & physics courses :D), but after three years without making anything electronics-related I have got a bit bored.

Since I know a bit if assembler I decided I could start playing with some microcontrollers. Even if I burn them, I guess I should learn something one way or the other :|

Anyway, I was looking for information about PIC microcontrollers and the tms470. I ordered some tms470 samples from ti which should arrive in a few days. Right now I can't buy a PIC as I have to order them by mail as there are no retailers where I live.

How much harder is to start working on tms470 in comparison to a PIC? Is there any site on the net with introductory information?

I have also one doubt with the microcontroller programmer. I have seem several programmer schematics for the pic along with software to upload code. But I can't understand how does the programming process works for the TI microcontroller. What is needed for programming the tms470?

Sorry for the long post and endless questions :|

tms470 programmer