Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Yes-Circuit: Misunderstood or malfunction

Status
Not open for further replies.
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, I am a Newbie here and concerning electronics!

I think I have understood some basic principles, concerning volt/ohm./amp.,
and I am learning from a lab kit, with described experiments..

Since this kit is out of date, I think, I am allowed to post it here,
concerning only my question.
Why doesn't this work out, as described? "Push button, led alights, and remains lighted.."

In the circuit I have built from the instructions, the LED goes out, after releasing the button. Only lights up during pressing the button.

Resistor Values are: R1=1kOhm, R2=33kOhm, R3=220kOhm, R4=100kOhm, R5=5,6kOhm, R6=470 Ohm, Transistors: npn BC 546B
Battery: 9V, red cable (technical plus)

circuit_plan_66.jpg

this is what I've plugged together according to the instruction:

circuit_built_66.jpg

Thanks kindly, for helping out...
(I am from Germany, so language corrections might also be helpful)

Daniel :p

Your language skills are perfect!

From what I can see, you have built it correctly and the values look good.

If pressing the button makes the LED light up it means T1 is working. What should happen is T2 should stop conducting and instead of the button providing base current to T1 through R1, it comes from R4 and R5 instead.

So something is wrong around T2. Can you swap it with T1 in case the transistor itself is faulty. Do you have a test meter?

Brian.

Your language skills are perfect!

From what I can see, you have built it correctly and the values look good.