+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 4,840, Level: 16
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    rajaram04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    861
    Helped
    6 / 6
    Points
    4,840
    Level
    16

    Problem with current loss with increasing length of wire

    Hello
    i am using a 12v 7Ah battery to run a motor with a fan attached to it. Problem is the decrease in speed or say load handling capacity when I am increasing the wire length. I need to run a 7 mtr length of wire but in 5 mtrs only I am facing the problem . . .Normal LED lamps are working at that end but motor is not working . just I feel a bit vibrations there . . I then connected low voltage motors but they are too not working like the original one . . how to overcome ??

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 85,362, Level: 71
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    2nd Helpful Member
    betwixt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
    Posts
    14,045
    Helped
    4676 / 4676
    Points
    85,362
    Level
    71

    Re: Problem with current loss with increasing length of wire

    The only option is to use thicker wires I'm afraid. The voltage drop is caused by the resistance of the wire (Voltage drop = Current * Wire Resistance). As the voltage and current are fixed, you have to reduce the resistance by using heavier grade wires.

    Brian.
    PLEASE - no friends requests or private emails, I simply don't have time to reply to them all.
    It's better to share your questions and answers on Edaboard so we can all benefit from each others experiences.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Points: 83,988, Level: 70
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    17,081
    Helped
    3859 / 3859
    Points
    83,988
    Level
    70

    Re: Problem with current loss with increasing length of wire

    Hi,

    You need to understand Ohm´s law.

    V = R x I.

    The voltage drop is: the wire_resistance x load_current.

    Wire resistance is proportional to wire_length and indirect proportional to copper_cross_section.


    Klaus
    Please don´t contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.


    1 members found this post helpful.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 3,359, Level: 13

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    618
    Helped
    157 / 157
    Points
    3,359
    Level
    13

    Re: Problem with current loss with increasing length of wire

    have you tried running the motor with the battery with 25 centimeters of wire?

    you have specified the source (12V and 7Ah) what are the requirements of your motor?
    nominal voltage and operating current?
    start up current?
    what gauge wire are you using?

    what does "...just I feel a bit vibrations there..." mean?
    is the motor vibrating?

    you wrote "...I then connected low voltage motors but they are too not working like the original one..."
    what voltage is the low voltage motor? what voltage is the original motor?


    1 members found this post helpful.

  5. #5
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 4,840, Level: 16
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    rajaram04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    861
    Helped
    6 / 6
    Points
    4,840
    Level
    16

    Re: Problem with current loss with increasing length of wire

    Quote Originally Posted by betwixt View Post
    The only option is to use thicker wires I'm afraid. The voltage drop is caused by the resistance of the wire (Voltage drop = Current * Wire Resistance). As the voltage and current are fixed, you have to reduce the resistance by using heavier grade wires.

    Brian.
    Ohh ok thanks . . here local shops provide wires on the basis of MM millimeter . . So what should I ask for in that case ? please guide



  6. #6
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 31,655, Level: 43
    BigBoss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    4,650
    Helped
    1410 / 1410
    Points
    31,655
    Level
    43

    Re: Problem with current loss with increasing length of wire

    Quote Originally Posted by rajaram04 View Post
    Ohh ok thanks . . here local shops provide wires on the basis of MM millimeter . . So what should I ask for in that case ? please guide
    First, you should check the current consumption of the motor then search which copper area ( mm^2) should be used to prevent voltage drops across the cable.
    There are tables in the internet that signify the effective copper area vs current consumption for grid voltage.


    1 members found this post helpful.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  7. #7
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 14,078, Level: 28

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    2,311
    Helped
    847 / 847
    Points
    14,078
    Level
    28

    Re: Problem with current loss with increasing length of wire

    keep doubling up or tripling up the wires .....


    1 members found this post helpful.

  8. #8
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 4,840, Level: 16
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    rajaram04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    861
    Helped
    6 / 6
    Points
    4,840
    Level
    16

    Re: Problem with current loss with increasing length of wire

    Quote Originally Posted by wwfeldman View Post
    have you tried running the motor with the battery with 25 centimeters of wire?

    you have specified the source (12V and 7Ah) what are the requirements of your motor?
    nominal voltage and operating current?
    start up current?
    what gauge wire are you using?

    what does "...just I feel a bit vibrations there..." mean?
    is the motor vibrating?

    you wrote "...I then connected low voltage motors but they are too not working like the original one..."
    what voltage is the low voltage motor? what voltage is the original motor?


    ya ya firstly it was working with I metre wire very efficiently. Even today I installed the motor in the vicinity of the power source and its working as usual.

    and ya the motor seems like it's trying to rotate the shaft or say its try to work with the available parameters. But its too dull to detect.

    i connected a 3v motor, a 5v DVD player motor, etc but no response & then also today i tried the same with a 5v relay and issues are again there . . .

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Easy peasy View Post
    keep doubling up or tripling up the wires .....
    ya sure! ll try with that... thanks!

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by KlausST View Post
    Hi,

    You need to understand Ohm´s law.

    V = R x I.

    The voltage drop is: the wire_resistance x load_current.

    Wire resistance is proportional to wire_length and indirect proportional to copper_cross_section.


    Klaus


    I see.... Ya as per that let me check the same . . thanks



--[[ ]]--